BLOG | Negative Personas

Anti-Personas

Sometimes it helps to put a face to those a company explicitly doesn't want to target. With data-based anti-personas (or buyer personas) you give a face to the target group they don't want to reach, a profession, a place of residence, interests, wishes & more.

Why anti-personas?

Your sales and customer service staff know only too well the "complicated customers" who complain, make a lot of work and bring in little revenue or profit in comparison, communicate in a misleading manner, are demanding and unfriendly, or are difficult or impossible to satisfy.
Such customers may later broadcast their negative experiences with the company or brand to the world and cost the company potential new customers.
Data-based negative personas, or "antipersonas," are useful in saving the company and its disappointed customers such experiences (and thus also cash). A negative persona is the personification of a customer that you would definitely not want to address. They are often the exact opposite of the buyer persona and help to better differentiate the positive buyer persona.
An antipersona is created data-based just like a buyer persona, only "the other way around": collect data and facts regarding the "undesirable" customers: What are they like, which advertising campaigns have attracted particularly large numbers of them, what images and language appeal to them. The marketing team should then avoid these in the future. Employees from sales or customer service who deal directly with customers can provide valuable input here in addition to the statistically collected data.

An example of negative personas:

A travel company sells cultural small group tours in the upscale segment.
The buyer persona Claudia is 55 years old, culturally interested, open-minded about new things, uncomplicated, moderately experienced in traveling, curious and adaptable. She appreciates comfort and chooses an organized group trip to be able to enjoy it in peace and not have to worry about anything. If something doesn't quite go according to plan, Claudia chalks it up to "adventure" and tells it later as an anecdote.
The antipersona Karin is also 55 years old, culturally very interested and well-versed. She has a precise idea of what she would like to see on the trip and asks the sales staff in detail whether this or that point would be possible in addition. She makes herself a checklist for each potential destination. She is very experienced in traveling and always travels in the upscale segment. She has seen the whole world. She is not shy about letting the tour guide and fellow travelers know that she already knows her way around the neighboring country and is also well-read.
Comfort, upgrades and attention to extra requests is very important to her, because after all, she pays a lot of money and can expect attention accordingly. If something doesn't go exactly as planned, she contacts customer service while still on the road, in addition to providing detailed, highly critical feedback after the trip. Karin also files recourse claims in the event of minor mishaps. At home, she prefers to tell her friends about the trip's mishaps and advises them against booking.

A dreaded variant is also an antipersona whose budget for the desired trip is very tight and who keeps the sales staff in suspense with long questions about cost minimization and included services, which she then meticulously demands down to the last drink.
The goal of creating the data-based antipersona is to figure out which channels, images, and wording the company must choose to target Claudia but not Karin.
A variation of the negative persona or anti-persona are personas that are very similar to the buyer persona, but lack one (or more) critical attribute(s) to match the buyer persona. It is important to identify these personas so that the marketing team does not waste time or resources trying to reach this group, because they will most likely never become customers, no matter how good the targeting is.

Again, an example of an anti-persona:

A company markets video games.
The buyer persona Julian is 23 years old, a student, plays basketball, lives in a shared apartment and enthusiastically dives into the gaming world every weekend with his friends. He has a budget of 100 euros a month left over, which he can use to afford online subscriptions, new games or paid features.
Antipersona 1, Alex, is 23 years old, a student, plays basketball, lives in a shared apartment and goes rock climbing with his friends every weekend. He has a budget of 100 euros a month to spare, which he invests in equipment, travel costs, and membership at the climbing gym.
Antipersona 2, Tim, is 23 years old, a student, plays basketball, lives in a shared apartment and goes to work every weekend because otherwise he can't make ends meet. He has neither time nor money for other hobbies.

Julian, Alex and Tim all fall into the same target group. Alex and Tim only differ from Julian in one characteristic each: Alex has no interest in video games and Tim has no money. The company can therefore save itself the trouble of trying to win Alex and Tim as customers. They are thus both antipersonas.

 Save as PDF

BLOG | Negative Personas

Anti-Personas

Manchmal hilft es, denjenigen ein Gesicht zu geben, an die ein Unternehmen sich explizit nicht richten will. Mit datenbasierten Anti-Personas (oder Buyer Personas) geben Sie der Zielgruppe, die sie nicht erreichen wollen, ein Gesicht, einen Beruf, einen Wohnort, Interessen, Wünsche & mehr.

Warum Anti-Personas?

Ihre Mitarbeitenden im Vertrieb und Kundendienst kennen nur zu gut die „komplizierten Kunden“, die sich beschweren, viel Arbeit machen und im Vergleich wenig Umsatz oder Gewinn einbringen, missverständlich kommunizieren, fordernd und unfreundlich oder schwer bis gar nicht zufrieden zu stellen sind.
Solche Kunden tragen ihre negativen Erfahrungen mit der Firma oder Marke womöglich später in die Welt hinaus und kosten das Unternehmen potenzielle Neukunden.
Um sich und den enttäuschten Kundinnen und Kunden solche Erlebnisse (und somit auch Bares Geld) zu sparen, sind datenbasierte negative Personas, oder „Antipersonas“ nützlich. Eine negative Persona ist die Personifizierung eines Kunden oder einer Kundin, die man auf gar keinen Fall ansprechen möchte. Oft sind sie das genaue Gegenteil der Buyer-Persona und tragen dazu bei, die positive Buyer-Persona besser abzugrenzen.
Eine Antipersona wird datenbasiert genauso erstellt, wie eine Buyer-Persona, nur „andersherum“: Sammeln Sie Daten und Fakten bezüglich der „unerwünschten“ Kunden: Wie sind sie, welche Werbekampagnen haben besonders viele von ihnen angezogen, welche Bilder und Sprache sprechen sie an. Diese sollte das Marketing-Team dann in Zukunft vermeiden. Mitarbeitende aus Vertrieb oder Kundenservice, die direkt mit den Kunden zu tun haben, können hier wertvolle Beiträge zusätzlich zu den statistisch erhobenen Daten liefern.

Ein Beispiel für negative Personas:

Ein Reiseunternehmen verkauft kulturelle Kleingruppenreisen im gehobenen Segment.
Die Buyer-Persona Claudia ist 55 Jahre alt, kulturell interessiert, aufgeschlossen gegen über Neuem, unkompliziert, mäßig reiseerfahren, neugierig und anpassungsfähig. Sie schätzt Komfort und wählt eine organisierte Gruppenreise, um diese in Ruhe genießen zu können und sich um nichts kümmern zu müssen. Wenn etwas nicht ganz nach Plan läuft, verbucht Claudia das unter „Abenteuer“ und erzählt es später als Anekdote.
Die Antipersona Karin ist ebenfalls 55 Jahre alt, kulturell sehr interessiert und versiert. Sie hat eine genaue Vorstellung davon, was sie auf der Reise sehen möchte und fragt die Vertriebsmitarbeiter detailliert, ob dieser oder jener Punkt zusätzlich möglich wäre. Zu jedem potenziellen Reiseziel macht sie sich eine Checkliste. Sie ist sehr reiseerfahren und reist immer im gehobenen Segment. Sie hat schon die ganze Welt gesehen. Sie hat keine Scheu, den Reiseleiter und die Mitreisenden wissen zu lassen, dass sie sich im Nachbarland bereits auskennt und außerdem belesen ist.
Komfort, Upgrades und die Beachtung von Extrawünschen ist ihr sehr wichtig, denn schließlich zahlt sie eine Menge Geld und kann dementsprechende Aufmerksamkeit erwarten. Wenn etwas nicht genau nach Plan läuft, kontaktiert sie noch von unterwegs den Kundenservice, zusätzlich zum ausführlichen, äußerst kritischen Feedback nach der Reise. Auch bei kleineren Pannen stellt Karin Regressforderungen. Zuhause erzählt sie ihren Freundinnen bevorzugt von den Pannen der Reise und rät ihnen von einer Buchung ab.

Eine gefürchtete Variante ist auch eine Antipersona, deren Budget für die gewünschte Reise sehr knapp ist und die die Vertriebsmitarbeiter mit langen Fragen zu Kostenminimierung und inkludierten Leistungen in Atem hält, die sie dann minutiös bis auf das letzte Getränk einfordert.
Ziel der Erstellung der datenbasierten Antipersona ist es, herauszufinden, welche Kanäle, Bilder und welches Wording das Unternehmen wählen muss, um Claudia, aber nicht Karin anzusprechen.
Eine Variation der negativen Persona oder Anti-Persona sind Personas, die der Buyer-Persona sehr ähnlich sind, denen aber eine (oder mehrere) entscheidende Eigenschaft fehlt/fehlen, um der Buyer-Persona zu entsprechen. Es ist wichtig, diese Personas zu identifizieren, damit das Marketing-Team weder Zeit noch Ressourcen verschwendet, um diese Gruppe zu erreichen, denn sie werden höchstwahrscheinlich nie zu Kunden werden, egal wie gut das Targeting ist.

Auch hier ein Beispiel für eine Anti-Persona:

Ein Unternehmen vermarktet Videospiele.
Die Buyer-Persona Julian ist 23 Jahre alt, Student, spielt Basketball, lebt in einer WG und taucht jedes Wochenende mit seinen Freunden begeistert in die Gaming-Welt ein. Er hat ein Budget von 100 Euro im Monat übrig, mit denen er sich Online-Abos, neue Spiele oder kostenpflichtige Features leisten kann.
Antipersona 1, Alex, ist 23 Jahre alt, Student, spielt Basketball, lebt in einer WG und geht jedes Wochenende mit seinen Freunden zum Klettern. Er hat ein Budget von 100 Euro im Monat übrig, das er in Ausrüstung, Fahrtkosten und Mitgliedschaft in der Kletterhalle investiert.
Antipersona 2, Tim, ist 23 Jahre alt, Student, spielt Basketball, lebt in einer WG und geht jedes Wochenende arbeiten, da er sonst nicht über die Runden kommt. Für weitere Hobbies hat er weder Zeit noch Geld.

Julian, Alex und Tim fallen alle in dieselbe Zielgruppe. Alex und Tim unterscheiden sich nur in je einer Eigenschaft von Julian: Alex hat kein Interesse an Videospielen und Tim kein Geld. Das Unternehmen kann sich also die Mühe sparen, Alex und Tim als Kunden gewinnen zu wollen. Sie sind damit beide Antipersonas.

 Als PDF speichern