fbpx
BLOG | Proto-Personas

Proto-personas: Understanding target groups intuitively

Simple, reduced personas based on customer contacts are often the starting point for data-based target group work. What proto-personas are and how you can use them data-driven personas from them: A guide.

What are personas?

Products are used by different target groups. Customers who have already bought a product differ in their motivation, needs and goals, which is why they have chosen this product. Potential customers often tick differently again.

The respective representatives of these target groups in their life situation represent personas. Personas illustrate a typical target group representative who thus depicts a specific target group. You can think of it as a kind of profile that provides additional information that is important for product development.

Information that a persona contains:

  • A picture of the representing person, who thus gets a face

Demographic data

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Residence
  • Marital status
  • Occupation
  • Income

Also

  • Interests: Hobbies and leisure activities
  • Quotes that reveal the attitude of the person
  • If already a customer: statements on the reason for the purchase decision
  • Usability: Possible problems when using the product

With the help of personas, all those involved in the project know in which lifeworld their target group moves, what challenges they face, what needs they have and what pattern they show in their user behaviour.

 

What are proto-personas?

Proto-personas, also called ad hoc personas or minimal viable personas (MVP), are non-empirical personas: simple, reduced profiles based on experiences with customers: Be it from sales calls, support requests, email communication or knowledge from customer relationship management, such as: Order history, socio-demographic information, salary, etc.

If no data-driven personas has been created yet, it is a good idea to start with proto-personas: First of all, this creates a uniform picture of the addressed target group(s) for all participants. Secondly, initial statements are created that can already help to determine starting points for optimising product development, customer service or customer experience.

 

How do you create proto-personas?

Ad hoc personas are best created in workshops with stakeholders from as many different areas as possible that optimally cover the customer journey - such as: Management, Marketing, Sales, Customer Service, Social Media, Business Intelligence. In preparation for the workshop, all participants have one task: to collect existing data so that they can draw on it during the workshop. This includes:

  • Analytics data: Who visits my website when with which devices / uses my app / reads, comments or likes my social posts).
  • Service data: What are frequent support requests? Which customers report most frequently to customer service?
  • Sales experiences: What are the most convincing value propositions? What are the biggest challenges in sales conversations? Who am I easiest to convince? With whom do I have the most effort or the least sense of achievement?
  • Impressions from customer contact: What are the people the stakeholders have had contact with like? What is their nature/character?

In the workshop itself, you start with a brainstorming session and collect all possible profiles from the target groups - either individually or in groups. Key questions: What is the person's name? How old is he or she? What is his or her profession? What does he or she look like? Does he or she belong to any associations? What values are important to them? Where can I reach this person?

In the second step, they cluster the personas. Experience shows that some of them are similar.

The third step is to deepen the clustered personas and prioritise them: What is my core target group? What is my marginal target group that potentially influences the purchase decision of the core target group? What is my potential target group that I am currently not addressing or not addressing enough?

 

Turning proto-personas into data-driven personas

The crucial next step: develop proto-personas into data-based personas. Why? Because proto-personas are based on assumptions - they should not be used as a basis for strategically important decisions, but only as a first step: to data-based personas. You create these by substantiating or correcting the theses and assumptions of the proto-persona with data on your target groups.

The best way to do this is to rely on three pillars:

  • On the internal data on your customers already prepared for the preparation of the proto-persona: Web analytics, social media usage data, order history or socio-demographic data.
  • Studies: Use representative surveys - for example on media use, purchasing behaviour, leisure activities, values, income situation and more.
  • Own market research: You collect your own data via surveys. You use the results to test assumptions and theses from the proto-persona.

Text: Regina Grein

More questions about personas?

Simply book a personal consultation appointment or send us your message:

 Save as PDF
×

BLOG | Proto-Personas

Proto-Personas: Zielgruppen intuitiv verstehen

Einfache, reduzierte Personas, die auf Basis von Kundenkontakten beruhen, sind häufig der Einstieg in datenbasierte Zielgruppenarbeit. Was Proto-Personas sind und wie sie daraus datenbasierte Personas machen: Ein Ratgeber.

Was sind Personas?

Produkte werden von unterschiedlichen Zielgruppen genutzt. Kunden, die ein Produkt bereits gekauft haben, unterscheiden sich in ihrer Motivation, Bedürfnissen und Zielen, weshalb sie sich für dieses Produkt entschieden haben. Potenzielle Kunden ticken oft nochmals anders.

Die jeweiligen Vertreter dieser Zielgruppen in ihrer Lebenssituation stellen Personas dar. Personas veranschaulichen einen typischen Zielgruppen-Repräsentanten, der somit eine bestimmte Zielgruppe abbildet. Man kann sich das wie eine Art Steckbrief vorstellen, der noch zusätzliche Informationen liefert, die für die Produktentwicklung wichtig sind.

Informationen die eine Persona enthält:

  • Ein Bild der repräsentierenden Person, die somit ein Gesicht erhält

Demografische Daten

  • Alter
  • Geschlecht
  • Wohnort
  • Familienstand
  • Beruf
  • Einkommen

Außerdem

  • Interessen: Hobbies und Freizeitgestaltung
  • Zitate, die erkennen lassen, welche Einstellung die Person hat
  • Falls schon Kunde: Aussagen zum Grund der Kaufentscheidung
  • Usability: Mögliche Probleme beim Benutzen des Produktes

Mit Hilfe von Personas wissen alle Projektbeteiligten, in welcher Lebenswelt sich ihre Zielgruppe bewegt, vor welchen Herausforderungen sie stehen, welche Bedürfnisse sie haben und welches Muster sie im Nutzerverhalten zeigen.

Was sind Proto-Personas?

Proto-Personas, auch Adhoc-Personas oder Minimal Viable Personas (MVP) genannt, sind nicht-empirische Personas: einfache, reduzierte Steckbriefe, die auf Erfahrungen mit Kunden basieren: Sei aus Verkaufsgesprächen, Support-Anfragen, E-Mail-Kommunikation oder Wissen aus dem Customer Relationship Management, wie: Bestellverlauf, soziodemografisch Angaben, Gehalt, etc.

Falls noch keine datenbasierte Personas erstellt wurden, bietet es sich an mit Proto-Personas zu beginnen: Das schafft zunächst einmal ein einheitliches Bild der adressierten Zielgruppe(n) bei allen Beteiligten. Zum zweiten entstehen Erstaussagen, die schon helfen können, Ansatzpunkte zu eruieren, um Produktentwicklung, Kundenservice oder Customer Experience zu optimieren.

Wie erstellen Sie Proto-Personas?

Adhoc-Personas erstellen Sie am besten in Workshops mit Stakeholdern aus möglichst unterschiedlichen Bereichen, die die Customer Journey optimal abdecken – etwa: Geschäftsleitung, Marketing, Sales, Kundenservice, Social Media, Business Intelligence. Vorbereitend auf den Workshop haben alle Teilnehmer eine Aufgabe: Vorhandene Daten zu sammeln, um darauf beim Workshop zurückgreifen zu können. Dazu zählen:

  • Analyticsdaten: Wer besucht wann mit welchen Devices meine Webseite / nutzt meine App / liest, kommentiert oder liked meine Social-Posts)
  • Service-Daten: Was sind gehäufte Support-Anfragen? Welche Kunden melden sich am häufigsten im Kundenservice?
  • Sales-Erfahrungen: Was sind die überzeugendsten Value Propositions? Was sind die größten Herausforderungen in Verkaufsgesprächen? Wen überzeuge ich am einfachsten? Bei wem habe ich am meisten Aufwand oder am wenigsten Erfolgserlebnisse?
  • Eindrücke aus dem Kundenkontakt: Wie sind die Menschen, mit denen die Stakeholder Kontakt hatten? Was macht ihre Art/ihren Charakter aus?

Im Workshop selbst starten Sie mit einem Brainstorming und sammeln alle erdenklichen Profile aus den Zielgruppen – jeder für sich oder in Gruppenarbeit. Leitfragen: Wie heißt die Person? Wie alt ist sie? Welchen Beruf übt sie aus? Wie sieht sie aus? Organisiert sie sich in Vereinen? Welch Werte sind ihr wichtig? Wo erreiche ich die Person?

Im zweiten Schritte clustern sie die Personas. Einige ähneln sich erfahrungsgemäß.

Im dritten Schritt geht es darum, die geclustertern Personas zu vertiefen und ihnen eine Priorität zu geben: Was ist meine Kernzielgruppe? Was ist meine Randzielgruppe, die die Kaufentscheidung der Kernzielgruppe möglicherweise beeinflusst? Was ist meine Potenzial-Zielgruppe, die ich derzeit noch nicht oder zu wenig anspreche?

Aus Proto-Personas datenbasierte Personas machen

Der entscheidende nächste Schritt: Proto-Personas zu datenbasierten Personas entwickeln. Warum? Weil Proto-Personas auf Annahmen beruhen – sie sollten also nicht als Grundlage für strategisch wichtige Entscheidungen dienen, sondern lediglich ein erster Schritt sein: zu datenbasierten Personas. Die erstellen Sie, indem Sie die aufgestellten Thesen und Annahmen der Proto-Persona mit Daten zu Ihren Zielgruppen belegen oder korrigieren.

Dabei setzen Sie am besten auf drei Säulen:

  • Auf die schon für die Vorbereitung des Proto-Personas vorbereiteten internen Daten zu Ihren Kunden: Webanalyse, Social Media Nutzungsdaten, Bestellverläufe oder soziodemografische Daten.
  • Studien: Greifen Sie auf repräsentative Erhebungen zurück – etwa zur Mediennutzung, zum Kaufverhalten, zu Freizeitaktivitäten, zu Werten, zur Einkommenssituation und mehr.
  • Eigene Marktforschung: Sie erheben eigene Daten über Umfragen. Die Ergebnisse nutzen Sie dazu, Annahmen und Thesen aus der Proto-Persona zu prüfen.

Text: Regina Grein

 Als PDF speichern