fbpx

BLOG | PERSONA INSTITUTE

Data-driven personas: What data counts

Their goal: to develop and market products that customers buy. How data-driven personas help, why and which numbers are important: We show you what really matters.

Personas are stereotypes of a target group. They represent customer segments and help companies to make decisions - whether it is about product development, personalised marketing or targeted customer service. The data-driven persona gives anonymous target groups a face, makes abstract data tangible and focuses the view of all employees on the customers and their needs.

 

Createdata-driven personas in three steps

To develop data-driven personas , the first step is a comprehensive analysis. The goal is to collect, evaluate and select data on the customer groups. It is worthwhile to consult other sources in addition to internal company data. The rule: the more detailed and extensive the collection, the better personas reflect target groups. In the second step , the data is used to formulate the persona's profile in a profile - a so-called sedcard: at a glance, all employees dive deep into the customer world. You learn everything about the persona's socio-demographic background, hobbies, popular brands, shopping behaviour, customer journey, values, willingness to spend and much more. With the third step, you validate the persona over a longer period of time. The persona comes into play in practice - the development of KPIs related to the persona then say something about how close it really is to the target group. And last but not least: update the personas at least once a year - because: every person evolves, so does every persona.

 

Important dates and sources of supply for data-driven personas

The more data you use to develop personas, the more targeted they will be in helping you to achieve your business goals. On the one hand, the data provides information about the demographics, character and consumer behaviour of your customers, on the other hand, what the target group wants from you, which challenges they master with your products and where there is a need for improvement. You should always be able to answer the following questions at the end of the research:

  • Who are our clients?
  • What is important to them?
  • What challenges do our customers face?
  • How do we support them in this?
  • Where do our customers shop or decide to buy something?
  • Why do customers (not) buy our products?
  • What is the final purchase decision basedon?

Who your customers are is answered above all by demographic data. They allow statements on gender and age distribution, show where and how your customers live and work. Sources of reference are, for example, the Federal Statistical Office, Statista as well as your company's own surveys or representative studies. Also important: include tracking and analysis insights from your own websites and profiles or pages in social networks!

What is important to target groups, what values they hold and what they expect from your company are shown by customer surveys and statistics on age groups, with generations playing a particularly important role here. Because people who belong to a certain generation share values such as interests, pursue similar goals and have grown up with the same brands. Generations are also characterised by specific character traits.

What challenges customers are dealing with and how your company helps with them is shown above all by customer surveys that relate directly to your product and service.

Where and why customers buy, which factors contribute to the purchase decision and brands that are important are shown by insights such as statistics that examine consumer consumption and media use. Possible sources of reference include survey institutes, media, authorities as well as own analyses that ask about brand preferences and the purchasing behaviour of customers.

The data-driven persona profile

The persona profile compresses and visualises the collected data in the form of a profile. Supplemented by a short portrait describing the living environment and the character of your persona, the profile contains the following data:

  • Name
  • Age
  • Education (secondary school leaving certificate, academic degree, vocational school ect.)
  • Occupation (branch and/or exact job title, self-employed, employed)
  • Marital status (single, married, in a civil partnership, divorced, widowed)
  • Housing situation (property, rented house or flat, shared room ect.)
  • Residence
  • Personality (introverted, extroverted, success-oriented, sociable ect.)
  • Interests/Hobbies
  • Media use (relationship between online, print, television and radio, media brands)
  • Purchasing behaviour (online or stationary trade, new or used)
  • Brand preferences
  • Relationship with the company and products
  • Further information in connection with the Company Offer

Checkdata-driven personas with KPIs

The persona is now ready for use. The advantage of data-based personas: their error rate is low. Nevertheless, adjustments are necessary and important from time to time. Also because the market and target group are constantly changing. The development of KPIs related to the persona shows whether personas work. For example, if you have created personas for your website, page views, visit duration or conversion rate reveal whether the persona "works".

Want to know more about the benefits of a data-based persona? We show you how and where exactly personas help companies to succeed.

Need more information to create data-driven personas yourself? Read our eBook "data-driven personas: Customer Centricity of the future".

That bring data-driven personas 

Using buyer personas in an email campaign improved open rates by double and click-through rates by five times.
Behavioural ads are twice as effective as non-targeted ads. Using marketing personas made websites 2-5 times more effective. Personalised emails improve click-through rates by 14 per cent, conversion rates by 10 per cent and generate 18 times more revenue than broadcast emails. Studies show that customer-centric businesses are already 60 per cent more profitable.

These are already good figures, but there is more in our infographic:

More questions about personas?

Simply book a personal consultation appointment or send us your message:

 Save as PDF
×

BLOG | PERSONA INSTITUT

Datenbasierte Personas: Welche Daten zählen

Ihr Ziel: Produkte entwickeln und vermarkten, die Kunden kaufen. Wie datenbasierte Personas helfen, warum und welche Zahlen wichtig sind: Wir zeigen, worauf es ankommt.

Personas sind Stereotypen einer Zielgruppe. Sie repräsentieren Kundensegmente und helfen Unternehmen, Entscheidungen zu treffen – egal ob es um Produktentwicklung, um personalisiertes Marketing oder um gezielten Kundenservice geht. Die datenbasierte Persona gibt anonymen Zielgruppen ein Gesicht, macht abstrakte Daten greifbar und fokussiert den Blick aller Mitarbeitenden auf die Kunden und ihre Bedürfnisse.

Datenbasierte Personas in drei Schritten erstellen

Um datenbasierte Personas zu entwickeln, braucht es im ersten Schritt eine umfassende Analyse. Das Ziel: Daten rund um die Kundengruppen sammeln, auswerten und selektieren. Dabei lohnt es sich, neben unternehmensinternen Daten weitere Quellen heranzuziehen. Die Regel: Je detaillierter und umfangreicher die Sammlung, umso besser spiegeln Personas Zielgruppen wider. Im zweiten Schritt formuliert man anhand der Daten das Profil der Persona in einem Steckbrief – einer so genannten Sedcard: Auf einen Blick tauchen damit alle Mitarbeitende tief in die Kundenwelt ein. Sie erfahren alles über den soziodemografischen Hintergrund, die Hobbies, beliebte Marken, das Einkaufsverhalten, die Customer Journey, die Werte, die Ausgabebereitschaft und noch vieles mehr. Mit dem dritten Schritt validieren Sie die Persona über einen längeren Zeitraum. Die Persona kommt in der Praxis zum Einsatz – die Entwicklung von KPIs, die mit der Persona zusammenhängen, sagen dann etwas darüber aus, wie nah sie wirklich an der Zielgruppe ist. Und last but not least: Mindestens einmal im Jahr aktualisieren Sie die Personas – denn: jeder Mensch entwickelt sich weiter, genauso auch jede Persona.

Wichtige Daten und Bezugsquellen für datenbasierte Personas

Je mehr Daten Sie für die Entwicklung von Personas nutzen, umso gezielter helfen diese später, Unternehmensziele zu erreichen. Die Daten geben zum einen Aufschluss über Demografie, den Charakter und das Konsumverhalten Ihrer Kunden, zum anderen, was sich die Zielgruppe von Ihnen wünscht, welche Herausforderungen sie mit Ihren Produkten meistert und wo Verbesserungsbedarf besteht. Immer sollten Sie am Ende der Recherche folgende Fragen beantworten können: 

  • Wer sind unsere Kunden?
  • Was ist ihnen wichtig?
  • Welche Herausforderungen beschäftigen unsere Kunden?
  • Wie unterstützen wir sie dabei?
  • Wo kaufen unsere Kunden ein oder entscheiden sich etwas zu kaufen?
  • Warum kaufen Kunden unsere Produkte (nicht)?
  • Worauf beruht die finale Kaufentscheidung?

Wer Ihre Kunden sind, darauf antworten vor allem demografische Daten. Sie lassen Aussagen zur Geschlechter- und Altersverteilung zu, zeigen, wo und wie Ihre Kunden wohnen, leben und arbeiten. Bezugsquellen sind beispielsweise das statistische Bundesamt, Statista sowie unternehmenseigene Umfragen oder repräsentative Studien. Außerdem wichtig: Tracking- und Analyse-Insights von eigenen Internetseiten und eigenen Profilen oder Seiten in den sozialen Netzwerken miteinbeziehen!

Was Zielgruppen wichtig ist, welche Werte sie vertreten und was sie von Ihrem Unternehmen erwarten, zeigen Kundenumfragen und Statistiken zur Altersgruppe, wobei hier vor allem Generationen eine Rolle spielen. Denn Menschen, die einer bestimmten Generation angehören, teilen Werte wie Interessen, verfolgen ähnliche Ziele und sind mit den gleichen Marken groß geworden. Auch zeichnen sich Generationen durch spezifische Charaktereigenschaften aus. 

Welche Herausforderungen Kunden beschäftigen und wie Ihr Unternehmen dabei hilft, das zeigen vor allem Kundenumfragen, die sich unmittelbar auf Ihr Produkt und Ihren Service beziehen.  

Wo und warum Kunden kaufen, welche Faktoren zur Kaufentscheidung beitragen und Marken, die wichtig sind, zeigen Insights wie Statistiken, die Konsum und Mediennutzung von Verbrauchern untersuchen. Zu möglichen Bezugsquellen zählen Umfrageinstitute, Medien, Behörden sowie eigene Analysen, die nach Markenpräferenzen und dem Kaufverhalten von Kunden fragen. 

Das datenbasierte Persona-Profil

Das Persona-Profil komprimiert und visualisiert die gesammelten Daten in Form eines Steckbriefes. Ergänzt um ein kurzes Portrait, das die Lebenswelt und den Charakter ihrer Persona beschreibt, enthält das Profil folgende Daten: 

  • Name
  • Alter
  • Ausbildung (Mittlere Reife, akademischer Abschluss, Berufsschule ect.)
  • Beruf (Branche und/oder genaue Berufsbezeichnung, selbstständig, angestellt)
  • Familienstand (ledig, verheiratet, in einer Lebenspartnerschaft, geschieden, verwittwet)
  • Wohnsituation (Eigentum, Miethaus- oder Wohnung, WG-Zimmer ect.)
  • Wohnort
  • Persönlichkeit (introvertiert, extrovertiert, erfolgsorientiert, gesellig ect.)
  • Interessen/Hobbies
  • Mediennutzung (Verhältnis zwischen Online, Print, Fernsehen und Radio, Medienmarken)
  • Kaufverhalten (Online oder stationärer Handel, neu oder gebraucht)
  • Markenpräferenzen
  • Beziehung zum Unternehmen und Produkten
  • Weitere Informationen, die im Zusammenhang mit dem Unternehmensangebot stehen 

Datenbasierte Personas mit KPIs überprüfen

Die Persona ist jetzt einsatzbereit. Der Vorteil datenbasierter Personas: Ihre Fehlerquote ist gering. Trotzdem: Hin und wieder sind Anpassungen nötig und wichtig. Auch, weil sich Markt und Zielgruppe stetig verändern. Ob Personas funktionieren, zeigt die Entwicklung von KPIs, die mit der Persona zusammenhängen. Haben Sie beispielsweise Personas für Ihre Webseite erstellt, verraten Seitenaufrufe, Besuchsdauer oder Konversionsrate, ob die Persona „funktioniert.“

Sie wollen mehr über die Vorteile einer datenbasierten Persona wissen? Wir zeigen, wie und wo genau Personas, Unternehmen zum Erfolg verhelfen. 

Sie brauchen mehr Informationen, um datenbasierte Personas selbst zu erstellen? Lesen Sie unser eBook „Datenbasierte Personas: Customer Centricity der Zukunft“. 

Das bringen datenbasierte Personas 

Die Verwendung von Buyer Personas in einer E-Mail-Kampagne verbesserte die Öffnungsrate um das Doppelte und die Klickrate um das Fünffache.
Verhaltensorientierte Anzeigen sind doppelt so effektiv wie nicht zielgerichtete Anzeigen. Durch die Verwendung von Marketing-Personas wurden Websites 2-5-mal effektiver. Personalisierte E-Mails verbessern die Klickraten um 14 Prozent, die Konversionsraten um 10 Prozent und bringen 18-mal mehr Umsatz als Broadcast-E-Mails. Studien zeigen, dass bereits heute kundenorientierte Unternehmen um 60 Prozent profitabler sind

Das sind schon gute Zahlen, aber in unserer Infografik gibt es noch mehr: 

 Als PDF speichern