fbpx
BLOG | Persona-FAQ

Personas: Questions & Answers

Many of our clients have questions about data-based personas. We have answered the 10 most common ones: In our Persona FAQ.

Why work with personas? 

Personas help you to get to know your customers, their wishes, needs and problems better and to align company processes with them. Personas make customer centricity possible in the first place. Thanks to personas, sales also increase in the long term, as marketing measures are planned and placed in a more target group-oriented manner - and wastage is greatly reduced. A study by Marketing Sherpa shows that sales generated by marketing alone can be increased by up to 171% with the help of data-based personas. At the same time, personas save costs, as products or communication measures are no longer developed without the customer in mind. Personas should therefore be part of every corporate strategy - whether for product development, customer service, marketing, recruiting or content creation.

What is a persona?

A persona is a stereotypical representative of a target group. This is an ideal-typical customer or buyer who represents a target group. To obtain a realistic persona, it must be based on real data and information about the target group. This is called data-driven persona.

Each persona gets a profile - the so-called persona-sedcard (also persona-profile). There, names, age and place of residence character traits, characteristics, interests, attitudes and consumption habits are described. This makes the persona seem more alive and like a real person compared to the usual target group description. In this way, all employees in a company can imagine the persona and the company can align its business processes with it. Personas therefore lead to more customer centricity.

How do I create a persona?

A persona must always be based on data. Therefore, it helps to first collect and organise all existing data on the target group: for example, from your own databases, from customer relationship management, customer service, web and social analytics or surveys. There may be gaps that need to be filled with further data - for example from representative studies, market media studies or similar. For example, you may know which gender and age group you want to address, but you cannot yet make any statements about which media this target group prefers to use. You are therefore still lacking data on media usage behaviour, e.g. in order to plan targeted advertising measures. You can obtain missing data, for example, through surveys by opinion research institutes, market research studies, public institutions, e.g. the Federal Statistical Office, websites, e.g. Statista, or through your own surveys and analyses.

In a second step, you formulate the persona-sedcard in the form of a profile based on the collected data. The personas are now ready for use, should be introduced in the company and then evaluated and updated regularly - at least once a year.

Why should a persona be data-based? 

If personas are only based on assumptions and presumptions instead of data, this can lead to wrong results. In the worst case, you will then develop your communication measures past the customer because you do not know the actual target group at all. After all, data is necessary to create a concrete picture of the target group. In this way you can find out what basic attitude your customers have, which products they particularly like to buy and why, which problems arise in everyday life and how they can be solved, which features are particularly important to them in a product and where they would like to be addressed particularly actively, e.g. through advertising measures. An example: Maybe you think that your customers are mainly active on Facebook and wonder about the lack of success of ad campaigns. With the help of media usage data, you then find out that your persona uses Instagram much more frequently and can only place much more targeted ads there - with greater chances of success.

How many personas do I need? 

Since each persona should be representative of a target group, it can be said that a persona is needed for each target group. However, you should always keep in mind that all target groups for which you create a persona should offer real added value to the company. If you have a limited (time) budget, we therefore recommend focusing on customer types that are particularly central to the company's success. Another rule of thumb is: Personas should cover about 80 percent of the desired customers.

Experience shows that companies do not need more than three personas per product.

What must a persona contain? 

A persona should contain all relevant data that you have or have acquired about the target group. Your persona should be able to answer the following key questions:

  • Who are your customers?
  • What is important to them?
  • What challenges do your customers face?
  • How do you support your customers in this?
  • Where do your customers buy or how do they decide to buy something?
  • Why do customers (not) buy your products?
  • What is the final purchase decision based on?

At best, you should write down all known data in a persona profile or sedcard. Relevant data for this can be: Name, age, education, profession, marital status, place of residence, living situation, personality and characteristics, interests and hobbies, attitudes, buying behaviour, media use, preferences, relationship to the company, etc.

Which data you would like to use depends on your individual use case. We will be happy to support you in creating a persona.

What is a Persona-Sedcard?

A persona-sedcard depicts the most important data and facts about a persona in the form of a profile. You can find sample personas here.

An alternative name for persona sedcard is persona profile. With the help of the sedcard, the viewer can see all the important information about the persona at a glance. In addition, the image and description make the persona appear less abstract and more like a real person. The persona sedcard should therefore convey the persona's attitude to life.

Persona-Sedcards can be created in different designs and, depending on the layout, put certain characteristics in the foreground.

What is a persona mood board?

Apart from the sedcard, the mood board is a good way to visualize a persona and its characteristics for other stakeholders. A mood board is a collage of graphics, photos, magazine covers, media logos and brands from the persona's life. A glance at the mood board allows you to immerse yourself in the persona's world. Feelings, emotions, needs, lifestyle and much more can be captured very easily and quickly.

What are Persona Templates? 

Persona templates are templates that are used to create a persona-sedcard. This is a specific layout in which information about the persona is entered. Persona templates can function as a simple template or digitally automated. In the latter case, you simply enter your data into an input mask and receive the finished persona at the end. The goal of persona templates: uniform-looking personas.

What tools help me to develop a persona? 

If you have already collected data, tools that contain suitable persona templates could help you. You can then assemble attractive sedcards from the data. Such tools are e.g. Make my Persona, Xtensio or Userforge. In addition, some providers offer additional bonuses, e.g. tools such as Smaply and Uxpressia also help with the creation of a customer journey map based on personas. The programme LeanScope, on the other hand, lets you integrate your persona-sedcards directly into presentations or print them out as posters.

If you want to invest less time in data research, you can use tools that do all or part of the research for you. Here we recommend, for example, our Persona Profiler with data from more than 1 million interviews from over 12 countries or Delve.ai with data from Google Analytics.

What is the difference between personas, target groups and segments?

Market segments are individual subsets of an entire market. The entire market of all customers and potential customers is thus broken down into smaller units - such a unit is then called a segment.

The target group, on the other hand, refers to all customers who are to receive communication measures. These are current buyers, potential customers and decision-makers, e.g. opinion leaders or reference persons. In the case of baby products, for example, the target group also includes parents.

Personas, on the other hand, are representative of target groups. They represent a stereotype that is supposed to represent a target group. Personas are much more specific than target groups and market segments. They are meant to make the target group tangible and alive.

The most important differences: We need market segments to plan marketing instruments, target groups are used to plan communication measures, and personas are used to specifically address target groups in all company processes. Personas also think from the consumer or customer perspective ("bottom-up principle"), while target groups and market segments approach the customer from the company's point of view ("top-down principle").

 Save as PDF
×

fbpx
BLOG | Persona-FAQ

Personas: Fragen & Antworten

Viele unserer Kunden haben Fragen zu datenbasierten Personas. Wir haben die 10 häufigsten beantwortet: In unserer Persona-FAQ.

Warum mit Personas arbeiten? 

Personas helfen dabei, die eigenen Kunden, deren Wünsche, Bedürfnisse und Probleme besser kennenzulernen und an ihnen entlang die Unternehmensprozesse auszurichten. Personas machen Customer Centricity so erst möglich. Damit steigt dank Personas langfristig auch der Umsatz, da Marketingmaßnahmen zielgruppengerechter geplant und platziert werden – und Streuverluste extrem abnehmen. Eine Studie von Marketing Sherpa zeigt, dass allein der durch Marketing generierte Umsatz mithilfe von datenbasierten Personas um bis zu 171 Prozent gesteigert werden kann. Gleichzeitig sparen Personas Kosten ein, da nun keine Produkte oder Kommunikationsmaßnahmen mehr am Kunden vorbei entwickelt werden. Personas sollten daher ein Bestandteil jeder Unternehmensstrategie sein – ob für die Produktentwicklung, den Kundenservice, das Marketing, das Recruiting oder Content-Erstellung.

Was ist eine Persona?

Als Persona bezeichnen wir einen stereotypischen Vertreter einer Zielgruppe. Dabei handelt es sich um einen idealtypischen Kunden bzw. Käufer, der eine Zielgruppe repräsentiert. Um eine realistische Persona zu erhalten, muss sie auf realen Daten und Informationen über die Zielgruppe fußen. Das nennt man datenbasierte Persona.

Jede Persona bekommt einen Steckbrief – die sogenannte Persona-Sedcard (auch Persona-Profil). Dort werden Namen, Alter und Wohnort Charaktereigenschaften, Merkmale, Interessen, Einstellungen und Konsumgewohnheiten beschrieben. Dadurch wirkt die Persona im Vergleich zur gewöhnlichen Zielgruppenbeschreibung lebendiger und wie eine echte Person. So können alle Mitarbeitenden in einem Unternehmen sich die Persona vorstellen und das Unternehmen kann seine Unternehmensprozesse an ihr ausrichten. Personas führen also zu mehr Customer Centricity (deutsch: Kundenfokussierung).

Wie erstelle ich eine Persona?

Eine Persona muss stets auf Daten basieren. Daher hilft es, erst einmal alle vorhandenen Daten zur Zielgruppe zu sammeln und zu ordnen: etwa aus eigenen Datenbanken, aus dem Customer Relationship Management, dem Kundenservice, Web- und Social-Analytics oder Umfragen. Gegebenenfalls entstehen Lücken, die nun mit weiteren Daten aufgefüllt werden müssen – etwa aus repräsentativen Studien, Markt-Media-Studien oder ähnlichem. Beispielsweise wissen Sie zwar, welches Geschlecht und welche Altersgruppe Sie ansprechen wollen, aber Sie können noch keine Aussagen darüber treffen, welche Medien diese Zielgruppe bevorzugt nutzt. Ihnen fehlen hier also noch Daten zum Mediennutzungsverhalten, z.B. um gezielte Werbemaßnahmen zu planen. Fehlende Daten erhalten Sie beispielsweise über Umfragen von Meinungsforschungsinstituten, Marktforschungsstudien, öffentlichen Einrichtungen, z.B. das statistische Bundesamt, Websites, z.B. Statista oder über eigene Erhebungen und Analysen.

In einem zweiten Schritt formulieren Sie anhand der gesammelten Daten die Persona-Sedcard in Form eines Steckbriefs. Die Personas sind nun einsatzbereit, sollten im Unternehmen eingeführt werden und dann regelmäßig – mindestens einmal im Jahr – evaluiert und aktualisiert werden.

Warum sollte eine Persona datenbasiert sein? 

Wenn Personas nur auf Vermutungen und Annahmen statt Daten aufbauen, so kann das zu falschen Ergebnissen führen. Im schlimmsten Fall entwickeln Sie ihre Kommunikationsmaßnahmen dann am Kunden vorbei, da Sie die tatsächliche Zielgruppe gar nicht kennen. Daten sind schließlich notwendig, um ein konkretes Bild der Zielgruppe zu erstellen. So können Sie herausfinden, welche Grundeinstellung Ihre Kunden haben, welche Produkte sie besonders gern kaufen und wieso, welche Probleme sich im Alltag stellen und wie sie gelöst werden können, welche Eigenschaften ihnen an einem Produkt besonders wichtig sind und wo sie besonders aktiv angesprochen werden möchten, z.B. durch Werbemaßnahmen. Ein Beispiel: Vielleicht denken Sie, dass Ihre Kunden vor allem auf Facebook aktiv sind und wundern sich über den fehlenden Erfolg der Ad-Kampagnen. Mithilfe von Daten zur Mediennutzung finden Sie dann heraus, dass Ihre Persona viel häufiger Instagram nutzt, und können nur deutlich gezielter Werbung dort schalten – mit größeren Erfolgschancen.

Wie viele Personas brauche ich? 

Da jede Persona stellvertretend für eine Zielgruppe stehen sollte, kann man sagen: Es braucht für jede Zielgruppe eine eigene Persona. Allerdings sollten Sie stets bedenken, dass alle Zielgruppen, für die Sie einen Persona anlegen, dem Unternehmen einen echten Mehrwert bieten sollten. Wenn Sie ein begrenztes (Zeit-)Budget haben, empfehlen wir daher, sich auf Kundentypen zu konzentrieren, die für den Unternehmenserfolg besonders zentral sind. Eine weitere Faustregel lautet: Personas sollten etwa 80 Prozent der Wunschkunden abdecken.

Erfahrungsgemäß benötigen Unternehmen pro Produkt nicht mehr als drei Personas.

Was muss eine Persona beinhalten? 

Eine Persona sollte alle relevanten Daten, die Sie über die Zielgruppe verfügen bzw. akquiriert haben enthalten. Folgende Kernfragen sollte Ihre Persona beantworten können:

  • Wer sind Ihre Kunden?
  • Was ist ihnen wichtig?
  • Welche Herausforderungen beschäftigen Ihre Kunden?
  • Wie unterstützen Sie Ihre Kunden dabei?
  • Wo kaufen Ihre Kunden ein bzw. wie entscheiden sie sich, etwas zu kaufen?
  • Warum kaufen Kunden Ihre Produkte (nicht)?
  • Worauf beruht die finale Kaufentscheidung?

Bestenfalls sollten Sie alle bekannten Daten in einem Persona-Profil bzw. einer Sedcard verschriftlichen. Relevante Daten dafür können sein: Name, Alter, Ausbildung, Beruf, Familienstand, Wohnort, Wohnsituation, Persönlichkeit und Eigenschaften, Interessen und Hobbys, Einstellungen, Kaufverhalten, Mediennutzung, Präferenzen, Beziehung zum Unternehmen etc.

Welche Daten Sie konkret nutzen möchten, hängt von Ihrem individuellen Anwendungsfall ab. Gerne unterstützen wir Sie bei der Persona-Erstellung.

Was ist eine Persona-Sedcard?

Eine Persona-Sedcard bildet die wichtigsten Daten und Fakten rund um eine Persona in Form eines Steckbriefs ab. Beispielpersonas finden Sie hier.

Ein alternativer Name für Persona-Sedcard ist Persona-Profil. Mithilfe der Sedcard kann der Betrachter alle wichtigen Informationen über die Persona auf einen Blick erfassen. Außerdem wirkt die Persona durch Bild und Beschreibung weniger abstrakt, sondern wie eine echte Person. Die Persona-Sedcard soll also das Lebensgefühl der Persona vermitteln.

Persona-Sedcards können in verschiedenen Designs erstellt werden und stellen je nach Layout bestimmte Eigenschaften in den Vordergrund.

Was ist ein Persona-Moodboard?

Abgesehen von der Sedcard ist das Moodboard eine gute Methode, um eine Persona und deren Eigenschaften für andere Stakeholder zu visualisieren. Ein Moodboard ist eine Collage von Grafiken, Fotos, Zeitschriften-Covers, Logos von Medien und Marken aus dem Leben der Persona. Mit einem Blick auf das Moodboard taucht man so mitten in die Lebenswelt der Persona ein. Gefühle, Emotionen, Bedürfnisse, Lebensstil und vieles mehr lassen sich so sehr leicht und schnell erfassen.

Was sind Persona-Templates? 

Persona-Templates sind Vorlagen, die dazu dienen, eine Persona-Sedcard anzulegen. Es handelt sich dabei also um ein bestimmtes Layout, in das dann Informationen über die Persona eingetragen werden. Persona-Templates können als einfache Vorlage oder digital automatisiert funktionieren. Bei letzterem tragen Sie einfach Ihre Daten in eine Eingabemaske ein und bekommen am Ende die fertige Persona ausgegeben. Ziel der Persona-Templates: einheitlich aussehende Personas.

Welche Tools helfen mir, eine Persona zu entwickeln? 

Wenn Sie bereits Daten gesammelt haben, könnten Ihnen Tools helfen, die passende Persona-Templates enthalten. So können Sie dann aus den Daten ansehnliche Sedcards zusammenbauen. Solche Tools sind z.B. Make my Persona, Xtensio oder Userforge. Daneben warten einige Anbieter mit zusätzlichen Boni auf, z.B. helfen Tools wie Smaply und Uxpressia auch bei der Erstellung einer Customer Journey Map basierend auf Personas. Das Programm LeanScope hingegen lässt Sie Ihre Persona-Sedcards direkt in Präsentationen integrieren oder als Poster ausdrucken.

Wer weniger Zeit in die Datenrecherche investieren will, dem ist mit Tools geholfen, die diese ganz oder zum Teil abnehmen. Hier empfehlen wir z.B. unseren Persona Profiler mit Daten aus mehr als 1 Mio. Interviews aus über 12 Ländern oder Delve.ai mit Daten aus Google Analytics.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Personas, Zielgruppen und Segmente?

Als Marktsegmente bezeichnet man einzelne Teilmengen eines gesamten Marktes. Der gesamte Markt aller Kunden und potenzieller Kunden wird also in kleinere Einheiten zerlegt – eine solche Einheit heißt dann Segment.

Als Zielgruppe bezeichnet man hingegen alle Kunden, die Kommunikationsmaßnahmen empfangen sollen. Es handelt sich dabei um aktuelle Käufer, potenzielle Kunden sowie Entscheidungsträger, z.B. Meinungsführer oder Referenzpersonen. So zählen bspw. bei Baby-Produkten auch Eltern zur Zielgruppe.

Personas auf der anderen Seite stehen stellvertretend für Zielgruppen. Sie stellen einen Stereotyp dar, der eine Zielgruppe repräsentieren soll. Dabei sind Personas deutlich spezifischer als Zielgruppen und Marktsegmente. Sie sollen die Zielgruppe greifbar und lebendig werden lassen.

Die wichtigsten Unterschiede: Marksegmente benötigen wir zur Planung von Marketinginstrumenten, Zielgruppen dienen der Planung von Kommunikationsmaßnahmen, Personas dienen der gezielten Zielgruppenansprache in allen Unternehmensprozessen. Personas denken zudem vom Konsumenten aus bzw. aus Kundenperspektive („Bottom-Up-Prinzip“), während Zielgruppen und Marktsegmente sich dem Kunden aus Sicht des Unternehmens nähern („Top-Down-Prinzip“).

 Als PDF speichern
×